Every Girl’s Dream

Standard

Okay, maybe not every girl, but it was my dream to have an American Girl doll when I was little.  And like so many of us do, now I am living vicariously through my daughter.  Not totally, but I did introduce her to American Girl at a very young age because I LOVED them growing up, but we never had the money to get one.  I had some of the books, but no doll.  I would get the catalog and just dream about getting Molly and getting us matching striped pajamas.  I loved her the most because she wore glasses, and I thought doll-sized glasses were so cute.  Now Piper is old enough for me to read through the books with her and I am secretly hoping that she likes Molly the best.  Right about now I am realizing how ridiculous I sound.  Oh well.  Piper’s first visit to the American Girl store was when she was 11 months old and we visited the flagship store in Chicago.  I told you, I started her young!

Standing with the historical dolls

When we visit our friends, who now have teenaged daughters, Piper disappears into the room to play with the American Girl dolls and I sometimes don’t see her for an hour.  And so, today, we went on a fieldtrip to the store!  Our friends loaned Piper a doll to carry around and we were like kids in a candy store.  To my surprise, Tatum thought the place was great too.  She is loving being able to get around on her own and she was pushing strollers and grabbing babies and squealing over the whole ordeal.

a big stroller for a little girl

"HI!"

The store is pretty cool.  It reminded me of Hobby City, the place I would go with my Cabbage Patch Kids when I was little.  At Hobby City you could buy clothes and accessories for your doll and there was also a doll hospital.  This store has that, and more!  There is a cafe and they will even bring you a high chair for your doll!  We didn’t go there, I can only imagine how much that costs.  There is a doll hospital, a photo studio where you can get your picture to look like it is on the cover the American Girl Magazine, and a salon!  How cute is that?!

stylin'

This is supposed to be a picture with Julie, in the Julie doll section, but all you see is her feet in Piper's arms

And a trip to The Grove would not be complete without seeing someone famous, and so we made sure that happened too!  And if you don’t think I am crazy, and can totally relate to my fondness of dolls, then tell me, who was your favorite?

Mario Lopez filming at The Grove in L.A.

And if that weren’t enough to start the summer off, we went on another hike.  I wasn’t planning on writing about this, but I just got done looking through my pictures and I thought I would share.  Today we went on a one mile round trip hike to a lovely waterfall in Trabuco Canyon.  I thought that a one mile hike sounded like a piece of cake, but I was wrong.  In the first 2 minutes of the hike we had to cross a creek.  We walked across fallen logs, climbed up and over rocks, under branches and boy was it worth it!  We ended up at a Falls Canyon Waterfall.  Until about 2 months ago, I didn’t even know there were waterfalls in Orange County and now I have heard of dozens.  We loved our guide, Joel, from Naturalist For You, but now that I know how to get there we can go on our own which is so great.  The trail was shaded the whole time, which was perfect on such a warm day and we stopped at a swimming spot along the way and then again at the waterfall.  So fun!

sound asleep

We made it!

Nana and Papa came along for the adventure

too cute

The rock scupture we left behind (I say we, but I really had nothing to do with it)

Who brings their daughter on a hike wearing white? Uh, that would be me.

You should go, really!  I realize this isn’t Hawaii, but it was really quite fun and out of the ordinary.  Check it out!

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

