recent discoveries

Standard

As I lathered myself up with coconut oil this evening, I decided to add it to my list of recent discoveries.  I just love it!  It smells divine and it is the perfect moisturizer for your outsides, and appears to be the perfect oil for your insides as well.  If you google “benefits of coconut oil” you will wonder why you have yet to buy this miracle product.  The claims that people make about coconut oil really do seem to be miraculous.  I, personally, cannot tell you if it is protecting me again osteoporosis, or if it is at work dissolving a kidney stone right now, but these are just some of the dozens of benefits.  It even claims to kill the viruses that cause influenza!  Besides cooking with coconut oil, I have used it to deep condition my hair and moisturize my skin.  It is not a super greasy oil like mineral oil, so you can go about your day without feeling like you have just stepped off the beach in 1985.  What I am about to say might sound crazy, but I tried it.  I heard it works, so I decided to try it.  I have not used any type of soap or lotion on my face for over a month now.  I have only used coconut oil.  Face wash for women can get really expensive!  Plus, I realized, I can not even tell you what half of the ingredients are that I am putting on my face and whether they are good for me or not.  So, I decided to try coconut oil.  And I have been pleasantly surprised.  I will say that you should use a cotton pad to wipe your face after you apply to limit your hair from touching your face.  Other than that, I like it!  Check out these recipes for making your own coconut oil based sunscreen and deodorant.

http://www.livestrong.com/article/278326-how-to-use-coconut-oil-as-a-sunscreen-deodorant/

But as I said, coconut oil was just something I was adding to my list.  Also on the list was this website I have discovered http://www.harvest.org/virtue/create.html?p=5723.  It sounds kind of weird to say that I just discovered it because it is the website to the women’s Bible study I have been attending for a year now.  BUT, I didn’t know it was so cool until recently!  They give really great recipes, crafts and other fun ideas on here.  Check out these fun party streamers, and so easy too!

 

And my other discovery, which is for local Southern Californians, or for the Southern California tourists, is Lido Island.  I just love it!  Yesterday, Brian and I enjoyed the movie, Midnight in Paris at the Lido Theater.  It is an old art deco theater that makes you feel like you are stepping back in time.  How appropriate if you saw Midnight in Paris, because in the movie Owen Wilson travels back in time each night at midnight.  That is all I will say about the movie so that I don’t give it away.  I thought it was a cute movie and would recommend it, especially if you love Paris, art, and/or literature.  After the movie we rode our bikes to a cute little beach on the island.  It is ideal for kids.  The playground is literally just steps from the water which means you can park it somewhere in the middle and keep an eye on the kiddos in the water or on the playground.  There are no waves and the dock makes for a nice little diving platform.  It has become a new favorite place of ours because the parking is free and there is never a crowd unlike on Balboa Peninsula.  And then we had to stop at Alta Coffee Shop.  Alta is a quaint little shop with mismatched cups and plates that features the work of local artists as well.  There is usually live music in the evenings and you cannot go there without ordering a slice of cheesecake.  I am not joking.  It really is the best.

Since I have shared some of my secrets with you, does anyone have any for me?  I would love to hear them.  Also, we will soon be making our way to Yosemite.  Is there any waterfall in particular that we should put at the top of our list?  Any special hike?  Let me know.

And lastly, Happy Birthday to my hubby!  Here is a little video we made for him over breakfast.  Don’t mind our bedhead.  Piper’s scripted voice makes me laugh.  Check out out:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eZTupxzSO-U

 

Leave a Reply

