Recipes for your Rugrats (and for you too!)

Standard

I am always looking for new ideas when it comes to cooking.  Lunch seems to be the most difficult meal to keep from becoming dull.  Recently, however, I came up with some new foods that I think you may want to try.  They have a healthy spin on some old favorites.

The other day I got creative with lunch and made pita pizzas.  Well, that’s what I called them at least.  A healthy sandwich alternative!  We went to the farmer’s market and Piper picked out some avocado cilantro hummus and pita.  I spread the hummus on the pita and for toppings we used sliced cucumbers and tomatoes.  Then we proceeded to cut it into slices.  Voila!  Pita pizza!  Perhaps your kids don’t like tomatoes, or perhaps they don’t like hummus.  I was thinking you could also spread some mayo and mustard and top the pizza with shredded zucchini, carrots and cheese.  Maybe I will try that next time.

I also made some rice crispy treats yesterday that turned out AMAZING!  If you like Chic-o-stics, then you will love these.  First of all, I didn’t have butter, so I used coconut oil.  As I was heating it in the pan, it smelled SO good, I decided I should add some unsweetened shredded coconut to the recipe.  But, I had already decided that I was going to add peanut butter.  Peanut butter and coconut?  I wasn’t sure, but I figured what the heck.  I melted the marshmallows, added all natural peanut butter once I took the pan off of the flame.  Then, I put about 3/4 cup ground flax seeds and 3/4 unsweetened shredded coconut.  And, who says you have to use Rice Crispies?  I have used flakes, O’s, or whatever I have.  This time I had rice crispy cereal (you can get it in bulk at Sprouts or similar farmer’s market type stores) and also mixed it with Nature’s Path Ancient Grains flakes.  If you are thinking this sounds too healthy, you have to just taste it.  You will be having Chic-o-stic memories flood your mouth!

And lastly, a yummy smoothie recipe that won’t disappoint.  I have been frequenting Nekter, a juice bar up the street that I wrote about in my new section Restaurant tips and tidbits.  They have this smoothie called Popeye’s Acai with spinach.  You can’t even taste it and it blends really nicely without any pieces floating in your cup.  My Aunt Michelle gave me a recipe for a similar smoothie, minus the acai, that you can make at home.  So so delicious.

2 bananas (preferably frozen, otherwise toss in a couple ice cubes), 1 handful of spinach, 1 cup milk (any type almond, 2%, rice, etc.), 1 Tablespoon coconut oil, 1/4 teaspoon of cinnamon, and 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla.  BLEND!

To be honest I don’t remember exactly how much vanilla, but I don’t use a measuring spoon anyway, just add a splash and go from there.  The girls love this and so do I.  I have even substituted and used half milk and half coconut water.  I think you will be pleasantly surprised, but just know that your smoothie will be green!

 

Leave a Reply

