Feeling Crafty: Halloween Ideas (take two)

Standard

I am not sure why my entire post was lost in cyberspace, but it was.  I will try and tell you everything that was in there, but it never is as good the second time around.  Bummer!  And another thing, I meant to write this post last week, so I realize that it may be too late but perhaps it will give you some ideas for next year.  Sorry about that.  Anyway, I had this idea to make decoupage paper lanterns.  I never got around to making them.  But if I would have they would have looked something like this.

image from koyalwholesale.com

I got this image from google images, but I think that they would be easy to make.  I was thinking a little black tissue paper, some glue and voila!  You should have something like this!  Cut out some cute little spiders or bats or jack-o-lantern face features, and with a glue and water mixture brush the tissue paper onto the lantern.  I hope I will try this for Thanksgiving or Christmas and then I can give you some step by step pictures of my actual lanterns.

Also, I have had a few kid Halloween parties and I thought I would share some ideas you can do with your kiddos just for fun or for a party.

Make play dough, or if you have Play-doh, pull out the Halloween cookie cutters or pick some up at the dollar store and make some festive shapes.  If you make your own dough, you could also, heat them in the oven and dry them and then paint them!

Play parachute games bouncing an orange balloon around.  I found one last year that was a jack-o-lantern face and it had a light in it so we played in the dark!

Make handprint spiders and footprint ghosts!  I did these for invitations one year.  I don’t have a picture, but I went and found this on google images too!  Same idea.

I think I’m missing something that was in my last post that somehow got lost, but oh well.  I will just leave you with some fun Halloween kid songs.  And I will go ahead an apologize for not spell checking this and reading it over.  Sorry.

 

Three Little Witches

1 little, 2 little, 3 little witches

Fly over haystacks, fly over ditches

Fly over moonbeams without any hitches

Hey, ho Halloween Night!  (clap)

1 little, 2 little, 3 little witches

Flew over barbwire and tore their britches

Had to go home and get some stiches

Hey, ho Halloween Night!  (clap)

Pumpkin, pumpkin on the ground

(to the tune of Twinkle Twinkle)

Pumpkin, pumpkin on the ground

How’d you get so big and round

Planted as a seed so small

Now you are a great big ball

Pumpkin, pumpkin on the ground

How’d you get so big and round

Boo!

(For this one we went in a circle and took turns hiding behind a Jack-o-lantern printout.)

To scare some folks on Halloween,

I’ll tell you what I’ll do

I’ll hide behind this pumpkin face,

And then I’ll shout…BOO!

Leave a Reply

