Ristow Happenings

Standard

Piper sees Christmas as lasting 25 days, and it truly does feel that way in the Ristow house.  We have been busy reading Christmas books, doing our Advent activities and just seem to have an all around busy schedule this time of year as I am sure is not unique to just us.  Oh, and can I just say at the top of fun and free things to do is going and looking at lights!  We walked around Balboa Island this evening which is always really decked out and the houses are just so pretty to look at even if they weren’t.  Earlier today the girls and I worked on a Christmas painting for our yard that turned out super cute.  It’s in our garage right now until we spray it with clear coat because the forecast calls for rain.  You can’t tell by the picture, but it is really quite big, maybe 2 1/2 by 4 feet. I had to do a closeup otherwise you would see all the junk in the garage ;).  Piper apologized for making Joseph look like he was wearing a dress, but I told her, “No worries!  He probably did wear a dress!”

We are usually the type of people who get our tree right after Thanksgiving.  While we do get excited about Christmas, we get it that early mostly because Brian has a few days off from work at that time and we usually head to Arizona right after Christmas so we are the folks that have our tree out on the street by the 27th if not the 26th.  This year we were a week late for whatever reason.  Brian managed to snap a few pictures at the tree farm that I thought I would share.  I LOVE these pictures.  The quality is not good and Piper’s outfit is pretty atrocious, but I love them because Tatum wanted to hold Piper’s hand and they held hands pretty much the whole time.  I love watching their relationship blossom as Tatum gets older.

We are big fans of buying our tree at Peltzer Pines (even though they don’t grow noble firs) because I feel like I am keeping the local tree farm in business.  But I love these pictures also, because I am sure that if anyone in Oregon, Washington or some other place that actually has seasons would laugh at this tree farm.  Everything from the dirt ground with the sprinkler hose running through to the palm trees in the background makes me laugh.  At least kids will be able to say, “we used to cut down our Christmas tree when we were kids.” Because I am not sure their kids will have the opportunity if they are living in Southern California.

We pulled out the decorations when we got home and had so much fun putting the ornaments on the tree with the kids.  Tatum found a porcelain bootie that was her “Baby’s 1st Christmas” ornament from last year and put it on the ground and tried to put it on her foot.  It looked a bit like Cinderella’s step sisters.  Piper and I made some cute garland to go around the tree using a large scrapbook hole punch, some cute holiday double-sided paper and a sewing machine.  And this time, I didn’t even get my mom to sew it for me!  If that doesn’t impress you, that’s okay, Piper was impressed.  She helped hand push the pedal which is a bit sketchy, but it worked.

And last, but not least, I have a totally note-worthy recipe to share with you (not to brag or anything ;)).  Tis the season to eat cranberries and turkeys and wine and cheese, right?  Well, I made a pretty darn good turkey burger that you should definitely try.

First, I made the turkey patties with a little salt and pepper, then I dipped them in egg and bread crumbs just for something different.  I cooked those up in a frying pan and topped a piece of toast with some cranberry sauce, brie and arugula and suddenly my ground turkey patty went from drab to fab!  Pair it with a nice Sauvignon Blanc and maybe some sweet potato strips and invite some friends over!

opened face turkey burger, perfect for the holiday season

That’s all for now.  It’s time for me to hit the hay.  Just 5 more days and I get the Mr. home for two weeks!  Can I just quickly apologize to those of you who look and find spelling and grammar errors in my blog.  I am the type who notices them when I read, but really, I am just too lazy and often running out of time on the computer that I don’t always give it a good proofread.  So please, don’t judge, don’t think I’m not smart enough to know the difference between there, they’re and their, it’s just sometimes my fingers try the best that they can to keep up to my brain, but it doesn’t always work out.  So, for those of you who are like me, sorry!

One response »

  1. Speaking of Tatum and Piper’s relationship: Tatum is constantly talking about Piper or thinking of Piper and referring to Piper. It is so cute. When she sees a picture of both of them together she says “Pipa” never herself.

Leave a Reply

