Choosing Joy

Standard

We are only 9 days into the new year.  So I’m thinking it’s not too late to write about resolutions.  I have been hearing a lot about joy being that we just got over the holidays and all and I have decided that I am going to choose joy this year.  I have no reason not to, really.  I mean, look at this

the faces of joy

I have 2 beautiful girls that keep me smiling and laughing, and sometimes cause me to pull my hair out and cry too, but they are entrusted to me and I am so grateful for that.  I have a husband who looks just the same as the day I met him, pretty darn cute if you ask me (and my opinion is all that matters anyway).  We are all blessed to have our health, which is huge.  We have a dog, a house, a yard, and we live in a place where there are sunny days year around and beautiful sunsets.  Life is good, not perfect, but more than I could have ever asked for.  And so my goal this year is to focus on these things, to know them so well that they are at the forefront of my mind when I get bent out of shape over the small things.  Joy is not a feeling, or an emotion, it is a state of mind.  It is a choice and despite the circumstances, you can choose to look through the lens of joy, or pity, or envy, or bitterness.  I am choosing joy.

Yesterday I was talking to my cousin who was just reflecting on her life and how content she felt, how blessed and fortunate her and her family were.  And then life threw a curve ball and the next day hubby was laid off.  After the tears subsided, she realized that she is still blessed and fortunate.  I want this year to be marked by a year filled with joy.  Not because everything is going my way, but because I am going to choose to have joy whether things go my way or not.  This is my resolution and my hope for you too.  Change your glasses.  Take off the envy, take off the pity, and start looking through the lens of joy.  We have been given so much.

One response »

Leave a Reply

