rejuvenated

Standard

It’s been awhile since I’ve written and that’s because two weekends in a row I had little getaways without the kids and without the computer.  Much needed!  For Mother’s day my aunt, cousin, mom, and sister (and my brand new niece) all hit the road headed to Arizona.  We stayed at a hotel for 2 nights with my aunts, grandma, sister and cousins that live out there.  It was so fun and relaxing!  It was Brian’s first time watching the girls alone overnight.  I wasn’t worried and, of course, I had nothing to worry about.  However, when I put the girls to bed on Friday night they were disaster.  Tatum started crying because Piper was crying and it actually sounded like there were a lot more than two kids in that room, according to my sister, it sounded like a symphony coming out of their room.  Piper was crying, “I love you!  I miss you already.  I miss you already, Mommy!”  But like I said, I knew they would be fine, and they were.  They woke up and had big plans for the weekend.  The did a service project at Brian’s school Saturday morning, and headed to Frogg’s Bounce House in the afternoon (one of two requests Piper had for the weekend).  They spend the afternoon with Brian’s parents on Mother’s day (and made me a really cool banner with their foot and hand prints).  And on Monday, they were babysat by their favorite sitter, Erika!  Piper’s weekend requests were Frogg’s bounce house and sushi and so for dinner on Monday, Brian took the girls out for sushi.  Lucky girls!

I don’t know why it took me 5+ years to getaway!

my welcome home banner

If that wasn’t enough, Brian scored a beach cottage at Crystal Cove this past weekend.  We had been wanting to get away without the girls, again it would be a first…kind of.  They have spent the night with the grandparents for one night a couple of times, but we were always at home.  So for $33/night we got a room at Crystal Cove in a dorm-style cottage for two nights!  That’s the way to go!  So inexpensive, and it felt kind of European.  The only times I have ever stayed in a hostel were in Europe and New Zealand.  Some of our dorm mates were from Belgium which added to the euro feel.  Really we spent so little time in the room that it didn’t matter.  We went on long walks, ate at nice restaurants and watched the sunsets.  The real treat was going out to breakfast because we never get a sitter and go out for breakfast.

As I was packing the girls up, not that excited that the timing was two weekends in a row, I felt like I just left them (because I did).  Anyway, I asked Piper if she was sad that we were going.  She said, “No!  I’m only sad when you leave me, not when I leave you!”  She was very excited to spend the weekend with my Aunt Michelle and her family.  My 10 year old cousin Delaney changed Tatum’s diapers, did the girls’ hair and got them dressed in the morning.  My aunt went through the whole weekend and never changed a poopie diaper!

We picked up the girls excited to seem them and truly feeling rejuvenated.  Not ready to do it again this weekend, but it definitely was nice.   Sunday night, unfortunately was a rude awakening to our reality.  Tatum woke up in the middle of the night asking for water.  Then a few hours later, Piper came in our room complaining of a stuffy nose.  After Brian sent her back to bed she started pouting which woke up Tatum.  Finally, they fell asleep, but then Brian had to move Frankie out of his crate in our room because he was snoring too loud.  That’s our life right now, and for a moment, just a moment, I remembered what it was like before all of our crazy sleepless nights and it was good :).  (and two little girls, even when they wake up in the middle of the night, are great)

Leave a Reply

