What if

Standard

Early this morning, 2:04 to be exact I was woken up by a very strange dream.  I’ve never experienced a dream come true, nor have I had a strong premonition about something.  Thankfully, considering that public nudity has been a recurring theme in my dreams over the years.  I have shown up to work without a top on and forgotten clothes altogether in other dreams.  Then there were times I wished my dreams did come true.  I remember in high school I dreamt that I won a classic car from a radio station.  That was such a disappointing dream to wake up from.  Bummer!

Anyway, last night I woke up from this very strange dream that Jesus came back.  It involved the President, some famous folks and some celestial beings.  If I go into too much detail, it won’t make sense because dreams never do.  Somehow I was the lucky one to have the event take place in my living room.  Not really mine, because dreams are never like that.  It was an unfamiliar house, but I was there.  I called my family and told them that Jesus was at my house!  My cousin Summer said, “Are you joking?  Because last time you told us that Tamara and I looked everywhere for him, even in the shower.” (that part is funny to me, apparently this was a claim I made more than once).  He and this random group of people, who were his disciples put on this reader’s theater show for my family and President Obama.  There was someone tall standing in front of me, so I decided to watch it on my laptop.  I looked it up and started watching it, and after a few minutes it shut off of my computer .  I kept trying to type it in the computer again, but the keys were not typing the right letters.  So, I decided to stand up and watch it live (duh, right?  since they were only 5 feet away from me).  When  I stood up Jesus was no longer among the other folks and the guy next to him was pointing at something behind us with a look of total astonishment on his face.  We turned to look, and above the fireplace was a crucifix and the Jesus on it was gone.  It was only a cross.  Next to the fireplace was a t.v. that was turned off.  Yet, an image of the face of Jesus (and he didn’t look anything like the images I have seen) appeared with a flag of all the nations and clouds filled the screen, dimly at first and then brighter and brighter until the television was on.

Strange.  Very strange.  And no, I am not trying to make a claim that it is a “sign”, but it did make me think.  I do believe in this guy named Jesus who claimed to be God.  I do believe that there is a place beyond here called heaven.  And then I thought, what if I am wrong?  What if it’s true that all roads lead to Rome and that every Muslim, Christian, Jew, Mormon, etc. will dwell together in eternity?  What if it is true that there is no such thing as life after death?  What if the grave is our final resting place?  What if this is as good as it gets?  And out of all of those choices I figured there is no harm in having faith.  Is the atheist better off than the Christian at the end of life even if the atheist is “right”?  Not at all.  And so I say I have faith and I believe in these things that are unseen.  I believe that there is a God and that He walked this earth as a man, named Jesus.  And if it sounds as crazy to some, just as reincarnation sounds to me, it doesn’t matter.  Because I have decided that out of all of the “what ifs” out there, that is the one that I want to put my beliefs in.

Leave a Reply

