Feeling Crafty: giving thanks

Standard

chalk wall

I was inspired by my friend Lindsey’s thankful wall at her house.  It started last Thanksgiving when they started posting notecards with things they are thankful for on their living room wall, now a year later, the wall is almost full!  I am lacking empty wall space, but I did have this little piece of brick wall that I had wanted to do something with.  I wanted to also post our family mission statement in a cool way.  So, I painted the wall with chalkboard paint and it will serve as our thankful wall, each brick being something that we draw or write that we are thankful for.  Maybe next month we will forego the traditional tree and just draw one (maybe 🙂 ) and then after the new year, I would like to write our family mission statement there.  It’s so versatile, I love it!  I love that the kids have had fun with it too.

Don’t throw away your pumpkins just yet!  I had fun with this project today.  It cost all of $5 maybe, and some leftover pumpkins.

tape your design

All you need is some painter’s tape, spray paint and some acrylic paint.

spray paint

Before you peel the tape off, make sure the paint is at least dry to touch.

paint on the words “give thanks”

Lastly, with a little acrylic paint and a q-tip since my brush was too big, you can decorate your pumpkin with some words.  I love how my pumpkins turned out and painted some of my smaller pumpkins to match.  I wrote the word, “thanks” too big, but other than that it’s pretty darn cute, don’t you think?

One response »

Leave a Reply

