just one more

Standard

Today marks 7 years without my dad.  I spent 26 years of my life with my dad, and now the number of years without him are creeping up.  Seven years since I last had a conversation with my dad.  We would talk on the phone often.  He was a talker, and well, so am I.  And so lately, I have been thinking about what I would say to him if I could just have one more conversation with him, just one more visit or even a phone call.  There is so much that has happened in the last 7 years.  Mostly just small things like, you know, MOTHERHOOD!  I believe in the afterlife.  I believe in heaven, so the more I thought about this, the more I thought, I wonder if he knows my life.  I wonder if he is aware of life here on earth.  I thought that if I could just have one more conversation with him, I would mostly just be an eager listener to hear what life after death is like.  But to humor myself, and in case he isn’t watching down on us, I thought of what I would want to tell him and it goes something like this.

Hey Dad!  First things first, I just wanted to tell you that I finally made it to Vegas.  It wasn’t all it’s cracked up to be, but I am glad I went.  Okay, moving on.  I am 100% enveloped in the life of being a mom.  I try not to.  I don’t want to be, but I just am.  My once flat stomach is kind of squishy now and I drive a 7 passenger van.  I refuse to call it a minivan.  It’s a Eurovan.  Is a Eurovan a minivan?  Please tell me it’s not.  Oh and how I’ve aged.  I think I’ll blame it on the kids.  I took a super close up picture of my eye the other day on Brian’s phone.  I thought it would be really cool looking, but instead, I got a not-so-cool picture of my eye surrounded by “fine lines and wrinkles” as the commercials like to put it.  Yikes!  I figured that since I was the baby I would just stay that way!  I eat pretty darn healthy which would probably bother you.  We often even eat vegetarian meals.  Can you believe it?  There is life after meat.  No Spam in this house.  What is Spam anyway?  I am guessing part ham, but what’s the sp all about?  Anyway, the kids manage to be happy and healthy despite their limited sugar and meat intake.  Piper was our little surprise the year after you passed, and though I thought choosing to have a child seemed like the scariest thing in the world, I am so incredibly happy that it, whatever it is, chose me.  And now we have two little rascals that bring immense joy into my life.  And Brian.  That Brian!  Who knew that he had some serious daddy skills hidden up his sleeve?  Nautica was probably the first baby he ever held, and now he has shown himself to be an amazing, all in, dad.  Piper and Tatum are truly blessed.  And Dad, they know you and that means so much to me because you are my dad; my crazy, politically incorrect, smart-ass dad and I miss you dearly.

fam5 lilbrooke IMG_7264 To read the other posts about my crazy dad (I am serious, he was kinda crazy.  Good thing I’m normal!), click here or here.

Leave a Reply

