lovely

Standard

I am in love.  Seriously in love. The objects of my affection?  Piper and Tatum.  I just have been really enjoying my family this week.  Maybe it is the fact that tomorrow is February, or maybe it is that Brian has had half days this week and we’ve had the chance to spend time together in the afternoons.  Whatever it is, I just have felt like doting on my kiddos.  This morning they woke up and I surprised them with homemade granola with strawberries and fresh squeezed orange juice in champagne glasses for breakfast.  And then, I decided to make Piper a picture.  It took all of 2 minutes, but I wrote “I love you Piper” in block letters and then put polka dots in the letters.  She makes me pictures and cards everyday and it makes my heart happy, so this time I decided to make one for her.  And then tonight, I was out with a friend and decided to buy them each a mylar balloon.  They love balloons and I know they will be so stoked when they wake up in the morning and see them tied to their chairs.  When I came home from dinner I saw this cute card in an envelope that she made.

mommy

I thought to myself, aww, my little sweetie has made me another card.    And then I asked Brian where the card was that I made for her and he said, Oh, she wanted to sleep with it.  Are you serious?  How did I get so lucky that this little girl, 5 years 11 months old thinks I am so great.  I know this won’t always be the case and so I will savor each moment.

sleeping pi

This afternoon we worked on a piece of yard art.  I have been into “pallet reincarnation”.  At Christmas I had Brian get me a pallet and cut it into a triangle to look like a Christmas tree.

I wish I had a picture of it totally finished.  I darkened the manger and added some more trees on the right.  Oh well.

I wish I had a picture of it totally finished. I darkened the manger and added some more trees on the right. Oh well.

And today we painted a heart.  It isn’t perfect, but it will give you the idea, and maybe you can make an even better one.  I wish we would have kept the slats on the back side so that it would look more three-dimensional.  I guess there’s always St. Patrick’s Day ;).

three

The kids decorated the heart with foam stickers, then we spray painted it, and then pulled the stickers off.

two

And now we have a heart hanging from our tree!  And those are my two little munchkins kissing in front of it.

one

This blog hasn’t been updated as often as the ideas fill my head unfortunately, sorry about that.  But life got busy!  I feel truly lucky to have had the experience of being featured in the Orange County Register a few weeks ago for my homemade deodorant and sunscreen.  My friends may know this already, but this may be news to some of my “followers”.  It sounds funny even saying that.  But I just wanted to let you all know that you can check it out here.

And here we are on the cover!

newspaper article

It was such a fun day of being interviewed and photographed!  It was as close as I’ll get to my 15 minutes of fame.  The exciting news is that I have had steady sales at smell-swell.com and the article has been reprinted in newspapers in Palm Springs, Lake Havasu, North Dakota, Milwaukee, and North Carolina, and those are the ones I know of!  Talk about free advertising!

It’s almost midnight, and I am not a night owl, but I almost forgot.  How cute is this for a Valentine’s treat???  I wrote this on my friend’s cutie yesterday when she wasn’t looking and then got the brilliant idea that it would make a great candy alternative for Valentine’s day!  I totally should have done nicer writing, because then it could be all over Pinterest ;).

orange orange 2

 

One response »

  1. Oh Brookie! I am sooo happy for you, it’s the Holy Spirit that allows us to be soo in tune with our Blessings and it is such a Blessing to be soo in tune with the Holy Spirit of the Loving God Almighty!!

Leave a Reply

