A few of my favorite things

Standard

I wanted to post this on Facebook, but thought it would be too long. So I am back to blogging after a very long time. There are so many things I want to share and have attached links if you are interested!

For Piper’s birthday last year I bought her a set of watercolors that is super portable and great for taking on our nature outings. The brushes hold water, so you don’t even need to bring a cup to clean your brush! She loved it and so did I! So, we ended up all getting one and taking them on our adventures down under last summer. It makes the best souvenir because #1, we are spending time observing and soaking in our surroundings, #2 it’s handmade, and #3, it is all bound together in a nice journal making it easy to keep for forever! We brought them to Vietnam, got our friends hooked and had so much fun touring around and painting! We were in the center of the bustling old town of Hanoi, would throw out the monkey mat and sit and paint. Fun for all ages! Truly! Tatum’s might look different than mine, but we are all able to take part and we have all improved our skills in the past year! Another of my favorite things, the monkey mat. It is thin like tent fabric but offers a nice barrier for when you are out in nature or in a big city. And it zips up nicely into a little pouch!

I just got this new book by John Muir Laws from my totally amazing hubby! I showed it to him on Amazon and then last night I came home to this! He’s a keeper for sure. The Laws Guide to Nature Drawing and Journaling is a beautiful book that teaches you how to start a nature journal if you have never done it and techniques for those that want to improve. This year I have incorporated painting and journaling into many of our subjects. It truly has been one of my highlights!  Here is Piper’s work on blackberries.  We learned about the importance of bees, and how they transform from flower to berry.  Oh, and Clover helped with this one which is why there is a big green patch that she decided to use to write her info. 🙂

Photo on 6-3-16 at 4.22 PM

This is what I came home to last night.  Put a smile on my face and made today a fun day as we explored some new techniques.  Also, Teaching From Rest!  I have heard so much about it and am excited to read it!

This is what I came home to last night. Put a smile on my face and made today a fun day as we explored some new techniques. Also, Teaching From Rest! I have heard so much about it and am excited to read it!

Here are our pictures of the red bridge in the old town of Hanoi Vietnam.

Here are our pictures of the red bridge in the old town of Hanoi Vietnam.

Piper's painting of the 12  Apostles in Australia, Tatum painted pumpkins at Tanaka Farm, and Kaikoura New Zealand for me.

Piper’s painting of the 12 Apostles in Australia, Tatum painted pumpkins at Tanaka Farm, and Kaikoura New Zealand for me.

Our first attempt at a bird after some tips from our new book.  We also used embossing to show the veins in leaves and blended lots of colors to work on color matching.

Our first attempt at a bird after some tips from our new book. We also used embossing to show the veins in leaves and blended lots of colors to work on color matching with colored pencils.

Apologies for the poor quality pics, I am using my computer. I knew if I didn’t finish this right now, it might never get done! Oh and one last thing! We get our journals from the Bee Paper Company. I use a 6×6, but Tatum’s is a bit bigger until she is a bit older and has better fine motor skills.

Leave a Reply

